The SAR Magazine

Spring 2018

The SAR MAGAZINE is the official quarterly publication of the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution published quarterly.

Issue link: https://sar.epubxp.com/i/985202

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 1 of 47

6 2018 Congress to Convene in Houston 7 Amendment Proposal/ Leadership Medical Committee 8 Nominating Committee Report/Butler Awarded Medal of Honor 9 Newsletter Competitions 10 America's Heritage and the SAR Library 11 The Proposed SAR Museum Gallery 16 250th Series: 1768—The Year of the Farmer 20 DNA Found My Brother 22 Newly Acquired Letters Reveal More About the Maryland 400 24 State Society & Chapter News 38 In Our Memory/ New Members 47 When You Are Traveling SPRING 2018 Vol. 112, No. 4 2 SAR MAGAZINE THE SAR MAGAZINE (ISSN 0161-0511) is published quarterly (February, May, August, November) and copyrighted by the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution, 809 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202. Periodicals postage paid at Louisville, KY and additional mailing offices. Membership dues include The SAR Magazine. Subscription rate $10 for four consecutive issues. Single copies $3 with checks payable to "Treasurer General, NSSAR" mailed to the HQ in Louisville. Products and services advertised do not carry NSSAR endorsement. The National Society reserves the right to reject content of any copy. Send all news matter to Editor; send the following to NSSAR Headquarters: address changes, election of officers, new members, member deaths. Postmaster: Send address changes to The SAR Magazine, 809 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202. Publisher: President General Larry T. Guzy 4531 Paper Mill Road, SE Marietta, GA 30067-4025 Ph: (678) 860-4477 Email: larryguzy47@gmail.com editor: Stephen M. Vest AssociAte editor: Patricia Ranft P.O. Box 559 Frankfort, KY 40602 Ph: (502) 227-0053 Fax: (502) 227-5009 Email: sarmag@sar.org heAdquArters stAff Address: National Society Sons of the American Revolution 809 West Main Street Louisville, KY 40202 Ph: (502) 589-1776 Fax: (502) 589-1671 Email: nssar@sar.org Website: www.sar.org stAff directory As indicated below, staff members have an email address and an extension number of the automated telephone system to simplify reaching them. Executive Director: Don Shaw, ext. 6128, dshaw@sar.org SAR Foundation Fundraising Manager: Sarah Strapp Dennison, (502) 315-1777, ssdennison@sar.org Director of Finance: Mary Butts, ext. 6120, mbutts@sar.org Director of Operations: Michael Scroggins, ext. 6125, mscroggi@sar.org Special Events Coordinator: Debbie Smalley, ext. 6123, dsmalley@sar.org Acting Director of The Center/ Director of Education: Colleen Wilson, ext. 6129, cwilson@sar.org Librarian: Joe Hardesty, ext. 6131, library@sar.org Assistant Librarian/Archivist: Rae Ann Sauer, ext. 6132, rsauer@sar.org Librarian Assistant/Receptionist: Robin Christian, ext. 6138, library@sar.org Registrar: Jon Toon, ext. 6142, jtoon@sar.org Merchandise Director: Susan Griffin, ext. 6141, sgriffin@sar.org 16 6

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of The SAR Magazine - Spring 2018