The SAR Magazine

Winter 2018

The SAR MAGAZINE is the official quarterly publication of the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution published quarterly.

Issue link: https://sar.epubxp.com/i/937053

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 1 of 47

6 SAR's New Library Director/ Repatriation or Sale of NSSAR Artifacts 7 Central District Minutemen Recognized/Fla. Medal of Merit 8 Libarary Director Michael Christian Retires 9 SAR Foundation's New Fundraising Manager/National Society Flag 10 Tim Mower: Colonial Conjurer 11 Visitation and Revenue Increases at History Museums 12 250th Series Anniversary Update/Col. Israel Angell 15 Graves of Our Founders: A Call to Action 18 Rising SON Challenge 20 Books for Consideration 22 Simco's Raritan River Raid 24 State Society & Chapter News 40 In Our Memory/ New Members 47 When You Are Traveling WINTER 2018 Vol. 112, No. 3 2 SAR MAGAZINE THE SAR MAGAZINE (ISSN 0161-0511) is published quarterly (February, May, August, November) and copyrighted by the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution, 809 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202. Periodicals postage paid at Louisville, KY and additional mailing offices. Membership dues include The SAR Magazine. Subscription rate $10 for four consecutive issues. Single copies $3 with checks payable to "Treasurer General, NSSAR" mailed to the HQ in Louisville. Products and services advertised do not carry NSSAR endorsement. The National Society reserves the right to reject content of any copy. Send all news matter to Editor; send the following to NSSAR Headquarters: address changes, election of officers, new members, member deaths. Postmaster: Send address changes to The SAR Magazine, 809 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202. Publisher: President General Larry T. Guzy 4531 Paper Mill Road, SE Marietta, GA 30067-4025 Ph: (678) 860-4477 Email: larryguzy47@gmail.com e ditor: Stephen M. Vest Associ A te e ditor: Patricia Ranft P.O. Box 559 Frankfort, KY 40602 Ph: (502) 227-0053 Fax: (502) 227-5009 Email: sarmag@sar.org h e A dqu A rters s t A ff Address : National Society Sons of the American Revolution 809 West Main Street Louisville, KY 40202 Ph: (502) 589-1776 Fax: (502) 589-1671 Email: nssar@sar.org Website: www.sar.org s t A ff d irectory As indicated below, staff members have an email address and an extension number of the automated telephone system to simplify reaching them. Executive Director: Don Shaw, ext. 6128, dshaw@sar.org SAR Foundation Fundraising Manager: Sarah Strapp Dennison, (502) 315-1777, ssdennison@sar.org Director of Finance: Mary Butts, ext. 6120, mbutts@sar.org Director of Operations: Michael Scroggins, ext. 6125, mscroggi@sar.org Special Events Coordinator: Debbie Smalley, ext. 6123, dsmalley@sar.org Acting Director of The Center/ Director of Education: Colleen Wilson, ext. 6129, cwilson@sar.org Librarian: Joe Hardesty, ext. 6131, library@sar.org Assistant Librarian/Archivist: Rae Ann Sauer, ext. 6132, rsauer@sar.org Librarian Assistant/Receptionist: Robin Christian, ext. 6138, library@sar.org Registrar: Jon Toon, ext. 6142, jtoon@sar.org Merchandise Director: Susan Griffin, ext. 6141, sgriffin@sar.org 7 Jamestown Settlement 11

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of The SAR Magazine - Winter 2018