The SAR Magazine

Spring 2019

The SAR MAGAZINE is the official quarterly publication of the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution published quarterly.

Issue link: https://sar.epubxp.com/i/1115998

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 1 of 47

6 Letters to the Editor 7 2019 Congress to Convene in Orange County, Calif. 9 The SAR Education Center and Museum Brick and Stoneware Tile Campaign 10 The Clements Library and Its Artifacts from Early America and the Revolutionary War 14 The Upcoming Conference on the American Revolution 14 Update of the Patriot Research System 15 Jamestown Settlement's Tenacious Women Lecture Series 16 Federal Census Records: An Untold Story 20 The Hornet's Nest and Eleanor Wilson 22 State Society & Chapter News 37 In Our Memory 37 New SAR Members 46 When You Are Traveling SPRING 2019 Vol. 113, No. 4 2 SAR MAGAZINE THE SAR MAGAZINE (ISSN 0161-0511) is published quarterly (February, May, August, November) and copyrighted by the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution, 809 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202. Periodicals postage paid at Louisville, KY and additional mailing offices. Membership dues include The SAR Magazine. Subscription rate $10 for four consecutive issues. Single copies $3 with checks payable to "Treasurer General, NSSAR" mailed to the HQ in Louisville. Products and services advertised do not carry NSSAR endorsement. The National Society reserves the right to reject content of any copy. Send all news matter to Editor; send the following to NSSAR Headquarters: address changes, election of officers, new members, member deaths. Postmaster: Send address changes to The SAR Magazine, 809 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202. Publisher: President General Warren M. Alter 7739 E. Broadway Blvd., #73 Tucson, AZ 85710-3941 Ph: (520) 886-1980 Email: warrenalter@cox.net e ditor: Stephen M. Vest Associ A te e ditor: Patricia Ranft P.O. Box 559 Frankfort, KY 40602 Ph: (502) 227-0053 Fax: (502) 227-5009 Email: sarmag@sar.org h e A dqu A rters s t A ff Address : National Society Sons of the American Revolution 809 West Main Street Louisville, KY 40202 Ph: (502) 589-1776 Fax: (502) 589-1671 Email: nssar@sar.org Website: www.sar.org s t A ff d irectory As indicated below, staff members have an email address and an extension number of the automated telephone system to simplify reaching them. Executive Director: Don Shaw, ext. 6128, dshaw@sar.org Development Director, SAR Foundation: Sarah Strapp Dennison, (502) 315-1777, ssdennison@sar.org Director of Finance: Mary Butts, ext. 6120, mbutts@sar.org Director of Operations: Michael Scroggins, ext. 6125, mscroggi@sar.org Special Events Coordinator: Debbie Smalley, ext. 6123, dsmalley@sar.org Acting Director of The Center/ Director of Education: Colleen Wilson, ext. 6129, cwilson@sar.org Librarian: Joe Hardesty, ext. 6131, library@sar.org Assistant Librarian/Archivist: Rae Ann Sauer, ext. 6132, rsauer@sar.org Librarian Assistant/Receptionist: Robin Christian, ext. 6138, library@sar.org Registrar: Jon Toon, ext. 6142, jtoon@sar.org Merchandise Director: Susan Griffin, ext. 6141, sgriffin@sar.org 10 7 ON THE COVER Clockwise from top left, the mission at San Juan Capistrano, Bowers Museum, Huntington Library and Gardens, Richard Nixon Presidential Library and Ronald Reagan Presidential Library; below, Congresss attendees also can tour the Lyon Air Museum

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of The SAR Magazine - Spring 2019