The SAR Magazine

Winter 2018-2019

The SAR MAGAZINE is the official quarterly publication of the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution published quarterly.

Issue link: https://sar.epubxp.com/i/1079862

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 1 of 47

7 President General Stephen A. Leishman, 1941-2018 8 PG Warren Alter and First Lady Nancy Visit Duncan Tavern; Lafayette Researcher Visits SAR Headquarters 9 The Rumbaugh Oration Contest Winner's Address 10 President Dwight D. Eisenhower's Grave Marking 12 Kettle Creek Battlefield: History and Preservation 14 America's Founding Documents Curriculum 16 The Rigel Family Challenge 18 Capt. Daniel Allen 21 Ben Franklin's Contribution to Behavioral Psychology 22 Graves of Our Founders: Part III in a Series 24 State Society & Chapter News 38 In Our Memory/New Members WINTER 2018-19 Vol. 113, No. 3 2 SAR MAGAZINE THE SAR MAGAZINE (ISSN 0161-0511) is published quarterly (February, May, August, November) and copyrighted by the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution, 809 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202. Periodicals postage paid at Louisville, KY and additional mailing offices. Membership dues include The SAR Magazine. Subscription rate $10 for four consecutive issues. Single copies $3 with checks payable to "Treasurer General, NSSAR" mailed to the HQ in Louisville. Products and services advertised do not carry NSSAR endorsement. The National Society reserves the right to reject content of any copy. Send all news matter to Editor; send the following to NSSAR Headquarters: address changes, election of officers, new members, member deaths. Postmaster: Send address changes to The SAR Magazine, 809 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202. Publisher: President General Warren M. Alter 7739 E. Broadway Blvd., #73 Tucson, AZ 85710-3941 Ph: (520) 886-1980 Email: warrenalter@cox.net e ditor: Stephen M. Vest Associ A te e ditor: Patricia Ranft P.O. Box 559 Frankfort, KY 40602 Ph: (502) 227-0053 Fax: (502) 227-5009 Email: sarmag@sar.org h e A dqu A rters s t A ff Address : National Society Sons of the American Revolution 809 West Main Street Louisville, KY 40202 Ph: (502) 589-1776 Fax: (502) 589-1671 Email: nssar@sar.org Website: www.sar.org s t A ff d irectory As indicated below, staff members have an email address and an extension number of the automated telephone system to simplify reaching them. Executive Director: Don Shaw, ext. 6128, dshaw@sar.org Development Director, SAR Foundation: Sarah Strapp Dennison, (502) 315-1777, ssdennison@sar.org Director of Finance: Mary Butts, ext. 6120, mbutts@sar.org Director of Operations: Michael Scroggins, ext. 6125, mscroggi@sar.org Special Events Coordinator: Debbie Smalley, ext. 6123, dsmalley@sar.org Acting Director of The Center/ Director of Education: Colleen Wilson, ext. 6129, cwilson@sar.org Librarian: Joe Hardesty, ext. 6131, library@sar.org Assistant Librarian/Archivist: Rae Ann Sauer, ext. 6132, rsauer@sar.org Librarian Assistant/Receptionist: Robin Christian, ext. 6138, library@sar.org Registrar: Jon Toon, ext. 6142, jtoon@sar.org Merchandise Director: Susan Griffin, ext. 6141, sgriffin@sar.org 8 16

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of The SAR Magazine - Winter 2018-2019