The SAR Magazine

Fall 2018

The SAR MAGAZINE is the official quarterly publication of the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution published quarterly.

Issue link: https://sar.epubxp.com/i/1056227

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 1 of 47

8 2019 SAR Congress Convenes in Costa Mesa, California 9 Arizona'a First Grave Marking 10 2018 SAR Annual Conference on the American Revolution 12 Tomb of the Unknown Soldier 13 Solid Light Reception 14 Memorial Membership 16 SAR Travels to Scotland 18 250th Series: The Battle of Alamance 20 Delaware's Dr. James Tilton 22 The Prison Ship Martyrs 24 State Society & Chapter News 38 In Our Memory/New Members 46 When You Are Traveling FALL 2018 Vol. 113, No. 2 2 SAR MAGAZINE THE SAR MAGAZINE (ISSN 0161-0511) is published quarterly (February, May, August, November) and copyrighted by the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution, 809 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202. Periodicals postage paid at Louisville, KY and additional mailing offices. Membership dues include The SAR Magazine. Subscription rate $10 for four consecutive issues. Single copies $3 with checks payable to "Treasurer General, NSSAR" mailed to the HQ in Louisville. Products and services advertised do not carry NSSAR endorsement. The National Society reserves the right to reject content of any copy. Send all news matter to Editor; send the following to NSSAR Headquarters: address changes, election of officers, new members, member deaths. Postmaster: Send address changes to The SAR Magazine, 809 West Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202. Publisher: President General Warren M. Alter 7739 E. Broadway Blvd., #73 Tucson, AZ 85710-3941 Ph: (520) 886-1980 Email: warrenalter@cox.net e ditor: Stephen M. Vest Associ A te e ditor: Patricia Ranft P.O. Box 559 Frankfort, KY 40602 Ph: (502) 227-0053 Fax: (502) 227-5009 Email: sarmag@sar.org h e A dqu A rters s t A ff Address : National Society Sons of the American Revolution 809 West Main Street Louisville, KY 40202 Ph: (502) 589-1776 Fax: (502) 589-1671 Email: nssar@sar.org Website: www.sar.org s t A ff d irectory As indicated below, staff members have an email address and an extension number of the automated telephone system to simplify reaching them. Executive Director: Don Shaw, ext. 6128, dshaw@sar.org SAR Foundation Fundraising Manager: Sarah Strapp Dennison, (502) 315-1777, ssdennison@sar.org Director of Finance: Mary Butts, ext. 6120, mbutts@sar.org Director of Operations: Michael Scroggins, ext. 6125, mscroggi@sar.org Special Events Coordinator: Debbie Smalley, ext. 6123, dsmalley@sar.org Acting Director of The Center/ Director of Education: Colleen Wilson, ext. 6129, cwilson@sar.org Librarian: Joe Hardesty, ext. 6131, library@sar.org Assistant Librarian/Archivist: Rae Ann Sauer, ext. 6132, rsauer@sar.org Librarian Assistant/Receptionist: Robin Christian, ext. 6138, library@sar.org Registrar: Jon Toon, ext. 6142, jtoon@sar.org Merchandise Director: Susan Griffin, ext. 6141, sgriffin@sar.org 20 Above, the Gen. David Humphreys Chapter of the Connecticut Society participated in the 67th annual Fourth of July Ceremony at Grove Street Cemetery in New Haven, Connecticut; left, the Tilton Mansion, now the University and Whist Club. 24

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of The SAR Magazine - Fall 2018