The SAR Magazine

Summer 2018

The SAR MAGAZINE is the official quarterly publication of the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution published quarterly.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 6 of 63

Virginia Compatriot Michael J. Elston were elected to the SAR Foundation Board's two open seats from a three- candidate field. Elected by acclamation were President General Warren M. Alter (Arizona), Secretary General John T. "Jack" Manning (New Hampshire), Treasurer General Davis Lee Wright (Delaware), Chancellor General Richard "Dick" Bryant (Missouri), Genealogist General James W. Faulkinbury (California), Registrar General C. Bruce Pickett (Alabama), Historian General John O. Thornhill (North Carolina), Librarian General Douglass T. Collins (Kentucky), Surgeon General Darryl Addington (Tennessee) and Chaplain General John Conrad Wakefield (Tennessee). President General (2017-18) Larry T. Guzy attempted to run for a second term from the floor, but was ruled out of order based on the rules of the 128th Annual Congress by a vote of 112-102. "Candidates nominated from the floor must have provided all required disclosure documents prior to being nominated." PG Guzy had filed the paperwork following the 127th Congress but later announced he was no longer running for a second term. With his surprise re-nomination, the disclosure documents were apparently not re-filed "prior" to the nomination. During a break, PG Guzy re-filed, the documents and the acting chair—then- Treasurer General Manning—ruled that PG Guzy had rectified the situation and could run, if re-nominated. After the decision of the chair was appealed, the Congress delegates overruled Manning's decision by a vote of 114-108. Later named to the Executive Committee were Paul Callanan of Michigan, Kent Gregory of California, Edward Rigle Sr. of Georgia, William "Tony" Robinson of Ohio and President General (2016-17) J. Michael Tomme Sr. Business Sessions Concluded Two Presidents General not in attendance were mentioned. Prayers were requested for Dr. William C. Gist Jr. (1995-96), who was recovering from a fall at his home in Louisville and congratulations were sent to Howard F. Horne Jr. and his wife, Nancy, on their 70th wedding anniversary. The eight Presidents General in attendance offered comments, the senior PG being Nathan E. White (2006-07) of Texas. Others present included: David N. Appleby (2008- 09), Edward F. Butler Sr. (2009-10), Stephen A. Leishman (2012-13), Joseph W. Dooley (2013-14), Lindsey C. Brock (2014-15), Thomas E. Lawrence (2015-16) and Tomme. The most significant legislative changes were housekeeping in nature, including alterations to National Life Memberships and fees for Memorial Memberships. A motion to remove former Presidents General and Executive Committee members from being Trustees failed. A proposal to require Chaplain Generals to be ordained ministers was postponed, and a motion to accept "legally decreed adoption" as a basis for membership failed after much debate. Dues and fees remained the same for 2018. Other highlights Tuesday evening's guest speaker was Michael Surbaugh, the 13th Chief Scout Executive of the Boy Scouts of America. Wednesday afternoon attendees had a choice between at tour of the San Jacinto Battlefield or the Houston Museum District Tour. Others chose to take self-guided tours of locations such as the Ima Hogg House Museum and Botanical Gardens. SUMMER 2018 7 The 128th Annual National Congress July 14 – 18, 2018 President General Larry T. Guzy inspected the National Color Guard prior to the Sunday Memorial Service in the Azela Grand Foyer of the Westin Memorial City Hotel.

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of The SAR Magazine - Summer 2018