The SAR Magazine

Summer 2018

The SAR MAGAZINE is the official quarterly publication of the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution published quarterly.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 49 of 63

XX SAR MAGAZINE 50 SAR MAGAZINE PPP Patriot Thomas Allen's grave was recognized by the Col. James Wood II Chapter on April 14. Stephanie Kent, a fourth great-niece of Thomas Allen, watched as Col. James Wood II Chapter President Dale Corey conducted the dedication. The ceremony was held in the Millar Family Cemetery on the grounds of Randolph Macon Academy and included a wreath laying, a memorial stone dedication and a musket salute. The flag was presented by the RMA Honor Guard. In attendance were Col. Frank Link of Randolph Macon Academy; Deborah Corey, a representative of the DAR; Jim Heflin; Ann Simmons; and Patrick Corey. Compatriots Marc Robinson, Raleigh Watson, Larry Johnson, Rob Andrews, Paul Christiansen and Jim Simmons were also in attendance. Culpeper Minutemen Chapter The Culpeper Minutemen Chapter helped honor our nation's fallen heroes at Culpeper National Cemetery on Memorial Day, with the aid of compatriots from the Colonel William Grayson and Fairfax Resolves chapters. A crowd of nearly 200 people gathered for the program, organized by VFW Post 2524 and Post Commander Compatriot Keith Price. The keynote speaker was Culpeper Minutemen Chapter Vice President Charles Jameson, a Vietnam veteran and Purple Heart recipient, and a descendant of David Jameson, a lieutenant in the 1775 Culpeper Minutemen who fought at Great Bridge. WASHINGTON SOCIETY Mid-Columbia Chapter Lawrence Clay, Kelly Schultz and Larry Flint attended the March 24 Eagle Scout Awards meeting in Pasco. Clay, who is our BSA and GSA coordinator, spoke to the scouts about the SAR Eagle Scout essay contest. Schultz spoke about his Patriot ancestor and Colonial clothing. Clay also spoke about the SAR, his Patriot ancestor, Minuteman garb and the Charleville Musket. Most of the rest of the meeting was dedicated to the giving out many scouting awards and merit badges. Elijah Saba, one of our Knight Essay contestants, was there, along with his father and brother, Levi. WEST VIRGINIA SOCIETY John Beckley Chapter The SAR's newest chapter held its organization dinner and inducted 29 charter members on Saturday evening, April 14, at the Holiday Inn and Suites on Dry Hill Road. The John Beckley Chapter was chartered on Jan. 27, 2018. The charter namesake, John Beckley, was born in London, England and was sent to Virginia as an indentured servant at age 11. He graduated from the College of William and Mary, where he was an early member of the Phi Beta Kappa scholastic honor society. He was a distinguished Virginia statesman before the Revolution, being three times elected mayor of Richmond and serving as clerk of both houses of the Virginia legislature. During the formative years of the United States government, Beckley authored the Oath of Allegiance of July 6, 1780, obliging "the members of the General Assembly to give unequivocal proofs of their attachment to the cause of America." He was elected first clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives in 1789 and served in that capacity until 1797. Beckley was appointed by President Thomas Jefferson as the first librarian of Congress and served from 1802 until his death on April 8, 1807. He is buried in the public cemetery in Georgetown, Washington, D.C. Beckley's son, Alfred, founded the county seat of Raleigh County, Virginia (created in 1850) and named the town after his father. The guest speaker was J. David Sympson, former (2010) President General of the SAR. Robert B. Fish Jr., Vice- President General of the SAR Central District, officiated as master of ceremonies. The chapter inducted 29 charter members. Inductees were Isaiah B. Allen, Delbert R. Bailey, William P. Ballengee, Floyd D. Bonifacio, Scott A. Burchett, J. Paul Chapman (president), Jerryd L. Clyburn, Merle T. Cole, Russell L. Compton, Glenn A. Conrad, Jesse A. Farley, Charles D. Field, Gerald W. Godfrey (treasurer and historian), Lynn A. Halstead (chaplain), George E. Hunter (registrar), Dexter L. Jones (vice president), Andrew E. Landis Jr., Charles R. Mann, Scott A. McKinney, Daniel W. Moye, James M. Owston, Zachariah T. Phillips, Wendell L. Salyer, Truman L. Sayre, Eli B. Shleser, Jonathan W. Truax and Michael L. White (secretary). Richard C. Whitman, Jeremiah M. Allen and Nathan N. Adams were inducted as junior members. President Chapman accepted the chapter charter. He expressed appreciation to William H. Lester, president of the West Virginia SAR, and Calvin W. Hannah, registrar for the SAR Ralph Stewart Chapter (Oceana), for major roles in recruiting new members. Chapman also praised the Captain James Allen Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, for their support in recruiting and activating the chapter and for decorating the dining room in a patriotic theme. The West Virginia SAR Color Guard, commanded by Edward A. Cromley IV, posted and retired the national and state colors. The John Beckley Chapter meets the second Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m., at Trinity Presbyterian Church on East Whitby Road in Shady Spring. Interested parties are invited to attend.

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of The SAR Magazine - Summer 2018